STSI Board of Directors Zoom Meeting Wednesday February 15, 2023 8:00 p.m. Approved 3/14/23

Call to Order

The meeting was called to order 8:05 p.m.

Board Members Present:

Mary Evelyn Bowling, Deanna Oliphant, Steve Mandacina, John Dalton, Mindy Donofrio, Hector Becerra, Aaron Gordon, Dabeluchi Isiofia, Monica Thomason, Alek Orloff, Zach Pifer, Jennie Lou Leeder

Board Members Absent:

None

Others Present

Jason Schmeltzer, Lorna Anaya, Cody McKall, Natalie Merkin

Verify Quorum

A quorum was verified.

Approval of Minutes

Deanna moved to pass the January 10, 2023 BOD meeting minutes as posted. Motion **PASSED**.

Board Member Summary - approved by BOD

Admin Vice Chair – Deanna Oliphant

Deanna continues to work through policy and procedures with the governance committee. Deanna reminded everyone of the April USA Swimming workshop in Denver. If someone cannot go, they should contact Deanna with a replacement.

Senior Vice Chair – Steve Mandacina

Steve said the STX South meet had about 390 athletes, STX Central had about 265 athletes and STX north about 325 athletes. STAGS will be indoors and has around 950 athletes. Steve asked that all meet documents, heat sheets, psych sheets, timelines be posted on the ST website.

Age Group Chair – John Dalton

The Open Water Zone Application is posted on the South Texas website. John has secured hotel for Age Group Zones and contacted Southwest Airlines for rates to Raleigh, NC.

Treasurer - Mindy Donofrio

All 1099/1096 and W2/W3 forms were filed and mailed. Mindy has processed all prior year Q4 outreach assistance requests, renewed the webmaster support and employee Bond Insurance. She is working with the accountant to file the 2022 tax returns.

Safe Sport – Monica Thomason

Monica meet with the USAS Safe Sport coordinator to discuss duties, portal update and team SS progress. She is working with her committee to discuss a Social media calendar and logistics of creating awareness graphics.

Coaches Representative – Hector Becerra

The coaches committee voted on the 2022 coach of the year award. The awards will be given out at STAGS. The committee will host a coaches social at STAGS and is looking at holding potential clinics during the summer.

Unfinished Business

Communication Progress

Monica reminded everyone to add draft reports to the ST private share drive and approved reports should be created in the ST Public Share Drive.

Committee Membership

Hector moved to approve Alexandra Dunn (NTRO) to the coaches committee. Motion Passed

DEI Committee/Chair

Information will be posted on social media and the website to look for committee members and a chair of the DEI committee.

Strategic Plan

Mary Evelyn reminded everyone to work with their committee on programs to meet the strategic plan.

New Business

Budget Amendment

In support of the Strategic Plan's goals, Mary Evelyn moved to approve a budget amendment to line 70130 (Website Maintenance) to add \$8500 for a total budget of \$10,000 to fund an online communications contract position to manage website and social media communications. **Motion Passed**

Travel & Expenses for STST Business

Alek moved to approve an amendment (changes in red) to section IV.C of the policy and procedure. **Motion**Passed

IV. Meetings

C. The location of the Annual Meeting will be held in San Antonio, on a date to be voted on at the previous year's House of Delegates meeting. The LSC will provide financial assistance to voting delegates traveling from more than 100 miles away from the HOD meeting who stay for the entire meeting, who apply for assistance. The process for documenting the request is the same as that outlined in Sections X.D.3. through X.D.5. of these Policies and Procedures.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 8:53 PM.

Next BOD Meeting

March 14, 2023, at 8:00 p.m. via Zoom.

Email 2/22/23 from Hector Becerra – Sr. Coaches Rep

Hector announced the 2022 Coach of the Year winners.

2022 AGE Group Coach of the year

Ryan Ciccarelli (COTA) – small team Jennie Lou Leeder (CCSS) – medium team Josh Lozano (AAAA) – large team

2022 Head Coach of the Year

Dean "Kondo" Kondziolka (HPAC) – small team Marcy Parshall (AQTX) – medium team Garrett Nelson (AAAA) – large team